Greek veal steak with patatas me skortho

I had some veal steaks waiting in the refrigerator to serve with a stroganoff sauce. But then the sun finally decided to show herself once again and like snow my appetite for stroganoff sauce disappeared. I wanted Mediterranean food on my plate. I wanted to indulge myself in the luscious flavours of southern Europe. I wanted sun and summer on my plate! Some left over tarama salad pointed me in the direction of Greece. So I marinated my meat in a mixture of spices I associated with the Greek islands and I ll try to recreate the marinate for you. I did not write anything down, but the result was delicious! It was a little bit to cold outside to grill them on the BBQ, so I had to use my grillpan. Its gives not that typical, delicious flavour of charcoal; but the meat gets a lovely crisp and those grill lines I just love!
In my Greek cooking book “Greek Mezze by Sarah Maxwell” I found a recipe for Patatas Me skortho or roasted potatoes with garlic and lemon. A ideal partner for my veal and so delicious I thought I would die from utter bliss. You just have to try these!
With all this I served some tarama, tzatziki and a nice fresh feta salad. A wonderful greek meal in so little time!

INGREDIENTS FOR THE VEAL

2 veal steaks
3 tablespoons of olive oil
2 teaspoons of fennel seeds
1 teaspoon of black pepper
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of smoked paprika powder
1 teaspoon of garlic powder
1 teaspoon of dried oregano
a little bit of lemon juice
2 bay leaves

INGREDIENTS FOR THE LEMON GARLIC POTATOES

5 large peeled potatoes
30 ml olive oil
50 ml of lemon juice
3 gloves of garlic finely minced
100 ml water
salt and pepper

VEAL STEAKS

Mix the olive oil with the herbs together in a small bowl. Now take a zip lock bag and poor in the marinate.
Now toss in the veal and shake it well, so that the marinate is all over the steaks.
Place this for about 3 hours in the fridge.
Heat the grill pan and sear the steaks. Turn them over regularly so you get that lovely grill pattern in your meat.

LEMON GARLIC POTATOES

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees (the recipe states it has to be 230 degrees, but I know my oven and I know he is just a little bit hotter then the indicated temperature. So I reduced my temperature a little.)
Slice the potatoes in wedges and place them in a oven tray.
Drizzle them with the herbs, the water, the olive oil and the lemon juice.
Now bake the potatoes in the oven for about 40 to 50 minutes or until golden brown. Don’t forget to turn them every 15 minutes!

Leave a Reply

