Daring baker: malaga pudding

I cheated on this daring baker challenge. The reasons for my behaviour?
After stalking 7 butchers in the surrounding area of my home none of them could deliver me any suet. (I used suet before, but the butcher I bought it at is renovating his shop and closed down for 3 months.)
After that I wanted to order some vegetable suet from my british online shop but noticed that the delivery date was set 3 weeks from now. So thank but no thanks.
Surfing the internet looking for a solution for this problem I stumbled upon some wonderful pudding recipes that did not call for any suet but just used plain butter.
Then the next problem arrived.. I did not have the time this month to wait 5 hours for something to steam, boil or cook.
All excuses I know… I am not bringing any honour to my title of daring baker.
Was I just going to give up? Was I gonna throw the towel into the ring?  I can tell you I most definitely was… But then I found this wonderful recipe for rum & raisin pudding on BBC Good Food and I knew that was the pudding I was going to make. Not exactly what Esther challenged us with, but at least I was trying to honour her pudding thoughts.
In stead of rum however I used Malaga dulce. It’s a very sweet fortified wine with almost 600 milligrams of sugar per litre of wine. I love it as a digestive and this time it was a perfect replacement of the rum!

INGREDIENTS FOR THE PUDDING

100 grams of dates
112 ml hot milk
100 grams raisins
50 ml Malaga dulce wine
75 ml sunflower oil
2 small eggs, beaten with a fork
1 teaspoon baking soda
125 grams self raising flour
89 grams soft light muscovado sugar

INGREDIENTS FOR THE SAUCE

70 grams salted butter
70 grams of light muscovado sugar
150 ml double cream
25 ml Malaga dulce wine
25 grams raisins

 Preheat the oven to 180°C before starting to actually make the pudding. I know it is tempting to dive in and whisk up that lovely batter. But just take a second and first heat up the oven.
Is the oven on? Wonderful lets go and make that pudding then!
Mix the chopped dates with the hot milk and set aside for 20 minutes. Now mix the raisins with the Malaga dulce and set aside for 20 minutes also. (A little tip heat the Malaga wine for a few minutes. It does not need to boil or anything but the hot liquid will make the raisins tender and they ll soak up all that lovely wine!)  I know it seems a long wait and you thought you were ready to start. While waiting you can just as well grease the small pudding moulds (I used a muffin tin) and sit them in a deep roasting tin. You can even put your kettle on, so you ll have warm water ready.

After 20 minutes you are really ready to actually start assembling the pudding. So here we go!!
Whizz the dates and the milk together in a food processor until you have a smooth puree. Scrape the puree into a large bowl and mix with the oil and eggs. Now stir in the baking soda, the flour and the sugar. You see it actually starts to look like a thick fragrant batter! Lovely isn’t it?

Now take the Malaga dulce soaked (and now slightly drunk) raisins and fold them into the batter together with any wine that is left in the bowl.

Now divide the batter into the moulds and then carefully poor your boiling water into the tin so it comes halfway up to the sides of the moulds.
Now pop this in your oven for about 20 to 25 minutes on a low shelf in the oven.

After 20 minutes check the puddings with a skewer. If the skewer comes out neat and clean the pudding is ready. If not… give it another 5 minutes.
When they are done you can lift them out of their hot tub and give them some cool down time on a rack.

In the meanwhile its time to make the sauce that goes with this pudding from heaven. Take a saucepan and melt the butter, the sugar and the cream together.
Whisk it a few times and turn up the heat! The sauce needs to start bubbling and come together into a smooth, shiny sauce. Now stir in the wine and the raisins and let the sauce cool.

When the pudding moulds or cold enough to handle it is time for la moment supreme. Getting the puddings out of their form!
Scraping around the sides of each little mould is a wonderful idea. Then toss them over on a baking dish and cover them with cling film.
When you pop this into the fridge you can keep the sauce and the puddings for up to 24 hours.

But if you are anything like me, they won’t survive 24 hours. You will plunge in right after diner and maybe with some luck leave one or two for the following day.
Just spoon over a little sauce over de puddings and poor the rest of the sauce around it. Cover the whole dish with a new piece of foil and pop this into a preheated oven of 120 degrees for about 30 minutes.
You ‘ll know when they are ready anyway… cause your mouth will start to water from that wonderful sweet smell that fills your kitchen. Top it of with a good spoon of whipped cream and enjoy its total divineness.

3 responses to “Daring baker: malaga pudding

  1. Cute – minis! I agree with the “won’t last long” sentiments, mine has been on the counter for all of 24 hours and it’s nearly all gone…It’s pretty much a vehicle for butterscotch sauce.

  2. Way to pull this one out when it looked like a no go in so many ways! Considering you were about to walk away from this one, I would say that your results look fantastic! Great job finding a recipe that maintained the spirit of the challenge and fit in with your timing! 🙂

  3. That malaga dulce wine sounds really good, and I bet it was a fantastic addition to the pudding. Your unique addition makes this daring, in my book. Plus, you stalked butchers!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

