Salad bar!

On my Dutch blog I posted some picture of my New Years Eve menu with the promise I would share some of the recipes in the weeks that followed. I did not keep my promise until recently I was challenged by a Dutch Co-foodblogger (something like the daring cooks but in Dutch) to create some buffet dishes that would suit her birthday buffet.  All of a sudden I remembered my promise and the recipes I did not share with my readers. Shame on me!

New Years Eve we traditionally (I admit) have a gourmet, but I always present it with a large salad bar. I try to make everything as fresh as possible cause I detest the flavour of store bought salads and don’t even get me started on the price of those horrible things that pass for food. I admit, making your own salads takes a little time. I spend about 4 hours on my little salad bar. But the result was wonderful, the flavours intense and the crispness of the veggies was unforgettable.
Like you can see in the picture I served all the salads in aluminium boxes. Not very fancy, I know. But after 2 days of cooking I could not stand the thought of doing the dishes for another 2 days in a row. So to make life easier on myself I used these throw away babies! Very convenient, when a there was no salad left I just threw away the box. It made New Years Day a lot more relaxed for me.
Today I share the top 3 of the salads. The ones my guests loved the most!

INGREDIENTS SWEET AND SOUR COWL CAROTT SALAD

300 grams carrots (finely sliced by the food processor)
300 grams of white cowl (finely sliced by the food processor)
1 finely chopped onion
1 dl vinegar
1 dl sunflower oil
50 grams of sugar
1 teaspoon curcuma powder
 salt and pepper according to taste

INGREDIENTS FOR THE ORIENTAL PINEAPPLE MANGOSALAD

1 pineapple
1 mango
1 tablespoon grounded ginger
1 finely chopped red hot chilli pepper
3 tablespoons of lime juice
3 spring onions
1 tablespoon of finely chopped mint
pepper and salt according to taste

INGREDIENTS GREEK PASTASALAD WITH ROASTED VEGETABLES

100 grams orzo pasta
100 grams roasted and marinated bell pepper
100 grams roasted and marinated zucchini
50 grams roasted and marinated eggplant
1 dl olive oil
5 cl white wine vinegar
1 teaspoon of cumin powder
1 teaspoon of paprika powder
pepper and salt according to taste

SWEET AND SOUR COWL CARROT SALAD

Take a little cooking pot and put it on the fire. Add vinegar, sugar, peper, salt and curcuma to the pot and bring this to the boil. (Look out, don’t look straight into the pot. The vinegar will irritate your eyes.)
When the mixture starts to boil, turn down the fire and let it cool down at room temperature.

Now add the cowl, the carrots, the onions and the sunflower oil together in a big bowl.
Mix this well and dress it with the vinegar mixture.
Mix again and place this for at least 3 hours in the fridge.

ORIENTAL PINEAPPLE MANGO SALAD

Peal the mango and slice the meat into little cubes. (Try to catch as much juice as you can in a little bowl.)
Now skin the pineapple and slice it to in little cubes. (Again try to catch the juice.)
Now mix the pineapple and the mango and dress it with the juices you caught.
Now add some of the finely chopped spring onions to the fruit.
Mix in the finely chopped mint, the lime juice, the ginger and the red hot chilli pepper.
Place this for at least 2 hours in the fridge before serving.

 

 GREEK PASTASALAD WITH ROASTED VEGETABLES

You can if you like grill and marinate your own vegetables. But I took the easy and lazy way and used delicious marinated veggies from the local Italian deli. You can also use the store bought version from sacla, which is also very tasty.

Cook the pasta according to the instructions on the package all dente and drain it with running cold water when cooked.
Mix in a little bowl the olive oil, white wine vinegar, pepper, salt, cumin and paprika powder together into a salad dressing.
Let the marinated vegetables drain a couple of minutes before cutting them into little cubes.
Now add the pasta, the vegetables and the dressing together in a large bowl and pop this into the fridge for at least 2 hours!

  

2 responses to “Salad bar!

  1. I am not going to be original this time, so all I am going to say that your blog rocks, sad that I don’t have suck a writing skills

  2. I really like when people are expressing their opinion and thought. So I like the way you are writing

Leave a Reply

