USA OKE :Burgers with onion rings

The hubby and I love a good burger from time to time. But visiting a burger restaurant is something we rarely do. We both aren’t to keen about McDonalds. We are however big fans of Burger King. But up till today there is no BK restaurant in Belgium, even though thousands of people are a member of the “We want a BK in Belgium” group on facebook.
So are visits to burger restaurants are limited to holidays abroad where BK is present. Once or twice a year I get the delightful Whopper in my hands and all is well again.
The rest of the year our burger consumption is limited, but when I saw that Jamie Oliver had a recipe for the real American burger I just had to give it a try! I adapted the recipe to my wishes and I must say it was a very tasty burger.
On my various holidays to the USA I discovered another delicious treat that is probably very bad for my health but so divine I could not resist it. I am talking about onion rings, another thing we don’t have or know in Belgium. After every stay I pack several ready to use mixtures for onion rings into my suitcase and I spend them well once back in Belgium.
But a couple of years have past since my last stay in the USA and I ran out of mixture. And with that I ran out of delicious onion rings. And the lord knows I have tried different recipes and all have failed. I even gave up hope to ever taste that crispy, sweet and again savoury ring once more… until I found a wonderful recipe on blogchef. Unbelievable but true… these are the onions rings I wanted. I even brought some over to my parents, because I could not believe I finally nailed it and the delicious onion ring days were back again.   

INGREDIENTS FOR THE BURGER

500 grams of minced meat (I used a mixture of pork and beef meat)
1 teaspoon of salt
1 heaped teaspoon of ground black pepper
1 large egg
a handful of freshly grated parmesan cheese
100 grams dried  breadcrumbs

To serve with the burger:
Whatever you like!
We used:
fresh mayonnaise
mustard
ketchup
tomatoes slices
slices of gherkin
some sautéed onions
slices of Chester cheese
and pistolets ( we don’t like the burger buns you can buy in the supermarket. But any type of bread or bun you like will do just fine!)

INGREDIENTS FOR THE ONION RINGS
1 large onion cut into thick rings
150 grams all purpose flour + extra coating flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 egg
250 ml milk
90 grams dried breadcrumbs
coarse salt
oil for frying

Making the burgers

 

 

Making these burgers is so simple and it hardly takes any time. If you want them to be a little “healthier” I would recommend you to bake them in the oven or use a grill pan like I did.
Take a large bowl and add all the burger ingredients (minced meat, the egg, the breadcrumbs and the seasoning.) Now scrunch the mixture together with your hands. Now devide the mixture into 6 equal balls. Wet your hands with cold water and roll the balls into burger shaped patties about 2 cm thick. Place the burgers on a plate that you covered with a little bit of vegetable oil and place them in de fridge for about an hour. This will give the burgers time to firm up and let the flavours blend in.

If you, like me use a grill pan, put it on a medium high eat en let it get very hot. Now add the burgers and cook them for about 4 minutes. Then flip them and cook them again for 3 minutes on the other side. I like to have thosewonderful grill patterns on my burgers… so you might want to move them a little while cooking.

When the burgers are done, you only need to assemble your favourite burger! And for that you can let your imagination run wild!

Making the onion rings

 

Heat the oil in your deep frying to 180 degrees.
You have sliced the onion in thick slices and you have separated the onion in rings.
Now mix together in a large bowl the flour, the baking powder and the salt.
Whisk in the eggs and the milk with the flour mixture until you have a batter that will stick to your rings.
Now line up a plate with some extra flour, the batter and a plate with the breadcrumbs.
Dip the onion rings into the flour, move along to the batter and dip your onion rings into the batter.
Finally dip the onion in the breadcrumbs and coat thoroughly.
Now it is time to deep fry the ring in batches for about 2 to 3 minutes or until they come golden brown. Let them drain on paper towels and season them with a little bit of coarse salt!

Recipe for the burgers is based on a recipe from the America cookbook by Jamie Oliver.
Recipe for the onion rings is based on a recipe from blogchef.
One response to “USA OKE :Burgers with onion rings

  1. Oh, Silke, sometimes I miss a good burger. I made the mistake of ordering one in Bastogne once, figuring that with all the Americans visiting the battlefield they’d know how to make a good one.

    No. Ptui. Ew.

    When we go back to the US (which we’ll do next week…) one of the first things I do is order a good burger. With onion rings.

    If you’re ever in Atlanta, you HAVE to go to the Varsity, downtown near Georgia Tech. Anyone can tell you where to find it. They have the best onion rings IN THE WORLD. Trust me, I’ve done the research!

    Oh, man, now I want a burger…

Leave a Reply

