Banana Split Brownies

The husband did not feel well on Saturday, his throat hurt, his legs were heavy and he was a little tired. By Sunday he was in his sweater on the sofa coughing his lungs out and his temperature went from cold to very hot.
Instead of having a fun weekend with lots of plans and lots of shopping, I transformed into a faithful nurse for the very grumpy patient in my living room.
He drunk the tea with fresh lemon zest and honey  with a long face. The fresh chicken soup with lots of vermicelli got a little more enthusiasm, but nothing could thrill him or make him smile a little.
He stayed a whole day on the cough, slumbering, coughing, and winning because I made him drink orange juice and tea.
So there I was, grounded… well I could just as well experiment a little in my kitchen. Nothing better than a little hocus pocus with my pots and pans.
In my refrigerator I found some bananas which  had seen better days, I also found some mascarpone which was about to expire and  chocolate is a must have in my house. I even have a little chocolate cupboard in my kitchen.
The ingredients reminded me of banana split, the royal wedding of these delicate flavors and one of my favorites on a hot summer night. So banana split brownies It would be!
After the whole house smelled of delicious freshly baked brownies, I could even seduce my sickly husband to take a little nibble of the heavenly pastry. His verdict:  delicious chocolate lushness with a little hint of banana.
Mission accomplished!

INGREDIENTS

150 grams dark chocolate
30 grams milk chocolate
100 grams butter
200 grams sugar
2 bananas
150 grams mascarpone
3 eggs
50 grams cacao powder
60 gram all purpose flour

Preheat the oven at 175 degrees.
Melt the chocolate together with the butter on a low fire or use the au bain marie technique.
In the meanwhile mass the banana.
Now take the melted chocolate away from the heat and pour it into a large bowl or into your food processor.
Now add the sugar to the chocolate mixture and mix it in. The heat of the melted chocolate will make the sugar melt into the dough.
Add the mascarpone and the mashed bananas.
Now add the eggs one by one and turn the food processor to the highest stand.
Wisk everything together.
Sift the flour and the cacao powder and add it to the mixture.

Now pour the batter into a brownie form and bake for about 30 minutes.

2 responses to “Banana Split Brownies

  1. Wow! This sounds delicious. What is better than chocolate and bananas?
    I found your blog through your comment on Kate’s blog. I am going to enjoy exploring it.
    Pam

  2. Silke, you need some Samurai sauce!

    But failing that, your brownies sound wonderful. Just the thing for an ailing husband. I hope he’s better!

Leave a Reply

